The Thorns and Thistles in Life: A New Perspective   9 comments


I had an ah-ha moment that I would like to share with you. Seriously read these questions and take time to answer them and you may have an ah-ha moment too!

Gen3: 17 To Adam he said, “Because you listened to your wife and ate fruit from the tree about which I commanded you, ‘You must not eat from it,’
“Cursed is the ground because of you; through painful toil you will eat food from it all the days of your life. 18 It will produce thorns and thistles for you,
and you will eat the plants of the field. 19 By the sweat of your brow
you will eat your food until you return to the ground, since from it you were taken; for dust you are and to dust you will return.”

When Adam and Eve sinned, God cured the ground so that thorns and thistles would grow. Thorns and thistles would be anything in your life that would cause you physical, emotional, mental, social or spiritual grief and discomfort.

1. What are the thorn and thistles in your life? (I have 2 thorns in my life right now. )

God also allowed flowers and food to grow among the thorns and thistles.
Flowers and food are the things in your life that make life good. Flowers and food are things that feed you spiritually, socially, physically, mentally or emotionally.

2. What are the flowers and food in your life? (I listed more than 10 items such as: my children, a God who protects and provides for me, a husband that loves me and takes care of me, a great job that challenges my mind and body, a church that feeds me spiritually and multiple services opportunities that feed me socially and mentally).

If your list is anything like mine, your flowers and food far exceed your thorns and thistles. (I had 2 thorns and more than 10 flowers).

20 years ago, I had around 3 thorns and still more than 10 flowers/food). Compared to today, one thorn is the same and the second is gone and third thorn have changed.

Your thorns will change depending on what season of your life you are in. Your flowers and fruit will always exceed your thorns and thistles. That is grace.

What if…………the thorns and thistles in our lives are present to toughen us up, to protect us from dangerous predators that would want to hurt us?

What if………..one of our enemies was ourselves, our wild tendencies and selfish nature?

What if………..the thorns are really a gift from God?

What if………the thistles are God’s loving, maturing grace to help us develop a rich character filled with patience, goodness, deep seated joy and kindness?

What if……….the thorns help us to appreciate the goodness around us?

What if………the flowers and food, the good things in our lives that bring us joy, are God’s demonstration of His care and devotion to us?

What if……….the thorns, thistles, flowers and food are all for our good? That God does not delight in our suffering, but to protect us and to meet our every need.

The thorns you have today will change in the future. The good things in life always outweigh what we think is bad.

Are we able to thank God for the thorns and thistles in our lives and see them as God’s best for us?

9 responses to “The Thorns and Thistles in Life: A New Perspective

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello forever friend…I was reminded of Paul as I read your blog … “I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan to torment me. Three times I pleaded with The Lord to remove it, then He said, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for My power is made perfect in your weakness.’ Most gladly therefore I would rather boast of my weakness, so the power of Christ may rest on me. For when I am weak, then I am strong. That is why for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. for when I am weak, then I am strong,” 2Chorinthians 12:7b-10

    Oh I praise God for His wonderful Word. I thrive on it. I am passionate about it. I hunger and thirst for it.
    I love you deeply and miss our precious times of fellowship together, laughing, crying, singing, and praying together. Those memories are forever imprinted in my heart…….your forever friend.. Nancy

  2. I always think of Paul when I am dealing with thorns in my life, he is still an inspiration and encourager even today. You are so right God does not want us to suffer and only want what is best for us and of course He knows what is best for us whether thorns or flowers. It is hard to remember that God created the thorns too. Hope things are going well for you – God bless you…

  3. Ah, that nasty thing about a differing perspective; the only thing we seem to fail to covet.

  4. This week we have replaced my wife’s car the transmission gave out , and today driving home from work the engine blew in my car. As I read your post about thorns I realized that even with what we have faced this week I have many more flowers than thorns. Reading your post was timely for me in helping me to realize my flowers even in times of difficulty! Great post. Thank you!
    Cliff Craig

  5. Yes!

Share your deep and wonderful comments.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 521 other followers

